The Garden

The Lord will guide you continually, And satisfy your soul in drought, And strengthen your bones; You shall be like a watered garden, And like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail. Isaiah 58:1

Atmosphere (part 1)

Leave a comment

And it came to pass, when the evil spirit from God was upon Saul, that David took a harp, and played with his hand: so Saul was refreshed, and was well, and the evil spirit departed from him. I Samuel 16:23

Atmosphere, it is literally all around us. Not only the air around us but it is also the mood or tone of our environment, such as at work or in our homes.   We all have experienced those times when we have gone into work or went to visit a friend and things just didn’t feel right. There was a sense of tension or uneasiness in the air.  That was atmosphere.

In the scripture above, David changed the atmosphere from where an evil spirit was able to torment Saul, to one where the spirit fled.  God has given us the ability and authority to change our atmosphere or at least our mindset.

There have been times when I had to give myself a “mental shake” and make the conscious decision that I AM going to change my attitude.   One way that I do this is to remember how good God has been to me.  We can get so bogged down in our current problems or a situation,  that we forget to remember what God has done for us.  Looking back isn’t always good especially if you dwell on “the what ifs or if only.” But if you look back and remember the goodness of God and remind yourself of His promises then you will encourage yourself.

So when you find yourself depressed, down in the dumps, discouraged or whatever just  say;

Why am I discouraged?
    Why is my heart so sad?
I will put my hope in God!
    I will praise him again—
    my Savior and my God!   Psalm 42:11

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

